Loose Ends

I must revisit a few topics to set the record straight.

In my post “No More Carte Blanche” of December 14th, I used the term “Lucy-goosey.”  I am well aware that the proper spelling of that term is loosey-goosey.  However, I intentionally misspelled it.  Whenever I hear that phrase, its meaning reminds me of Lucille Ball’s zany antics on “I Love Lucy”,  a staple I was brought up on during the 1950’s.

My eye doctor appointment went perfectly yesterday.  Nurse Ratchet was no where to be seen and the doctor not only gave me a full exam, but also took much time to explain exactly what I needed to know.  I am not going blind:  I am just an old fart:

Today, Mark Felt, AKA “Deep Throat” of the Watergate scandal, passed away.  I am grateful that he exposed his identity in 2005 because it was one of the major secrets during my lifetime that I was forever curious about.  Some people have stated that he was actually a criminal, having violated the FBI code of confidence by whispering his secrets to Bob Woodward of the Washington Post.  Whether or not his initial intentions were purely noble holds a secondary importance to the fact that the outcome of his actions had an earth-shattering, beneficial effect on our country.  Regardless of his intentions of being actually a do-gooder versus an angry ingrate over not being named to head the FBI to succeed J. Edgar Hoover, I believe that, in the end,  Felt was a hero.  Code of confidence be damned;  the ethics, operations and structure of the FBI were rotten to the core during Watergate.  Felt exposed the corruption within that organization because his personal sense of decency overwhelmed his loyalty to his employer.  That is not criminal.  That is admirable.  It is called answering to a higher authority.  Surely Felt’s vow of secrecy, his not cashing in for fame or money,  over these last 30 years attests to his nobler principles.  Rest in peace, Mark Felt.

Today, George W. announced a federally funded $17 billion infusion to GM and Chrysler in order to provide them with some breathing room to avoid a “disorganized bankruptcy.”  It took Bush only seven years and eleven months to make a reasonable, effective decision to actually help this country.  He spoke well and demonstrated actual leadership.  Too little, too late in terms of any kind of legacy.  Only 11% of Americans believe that Bush has been a “good” or “very good” President.  Word has it that Carl Rove is now working on designing the Bush Presidency’s legacy.  Is there enough spin in this world that could possibly re-vamp and alter the actual disasters of this administration?  Read the following article from the Washington Post and then stay tuned:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/12/18/AR2008121803543.html

We are in such dire straits here in the U.S. today, morally and economically, that I am trying to turn tears into laughter.  I call it survival.  Indeed, even though 2008 is not quite over yet, I must confess here and now my favorite quotes uttered this year.  I could cite example after example from the mouth of Sarah Palin.  But here is my favorite, though only my runner-up choice for 2008 quote of the year, from her interview with Katie Couric.  When asked how the proposed $700 billion bailout will effect our country, Palin responded:

“That’s why I say I, like every American I’m speaking with, were ill about this position that we have been put in where it is the taxpayers looking to bail out.  But ultimately, what the bailout does is help those who are concerned about the health-care reform that is needed to help shore up our economy, helping the —– it’s got to be all about job creation, too, shoring up our economy and putting it back on the right track.  So health-care reform and reducing taxes and reining in spending has got to accompany tax reductions and tax relief for Americans.  And trade, we’ve got to see trade as opportunity, not as a competitive, scary thing.  But one in five jobs being created in the trade sector today, we’ve got to look at that as more opportunity.  All those things under the umbrella of job creation.  This bailout is a part of that.”

Whew!  It is difficult to even type this gibberish, much less make sense of it.

Despite a very active year in the media with exciting primary races and a national election, not to mention the economic meltdown and deep ethical problems, and the rich mine of Sarah Palin speak, Rod Blagojevich, in referring to President-elect Obama, gets the trophy for the best words spoken this year:  “That Mother****er, I want more than appreciation from him for his Senate seat.”  These were the sweetest  words to my ears this year.

Finally, I am working on a new post that will visit the halls of nostalgia and my years at summer camp.  My camp experiences and lessons definitely have implications for our country today.  I plan on posting that within the next day, so please check back.

One Response to “Loose Ends”

  1. Natalie Rosen Says:

    I LOVE that ode to middle age. I have EVERYONE of those maladies.

    Sarah Palin speak is hilarious if it were not so disgustingly horrific that, indeed, she just may have succeeded McCain if McCain won and then croaked. Thoughts to ponder and shake by. Oh well, I’ll just add that to another one of my middle age maladies!

    Here’s to a better … a MUCH better year!!!

Comments are closed.


