LIVE WITH YO MAMA:Our Day Is Here

GOOD MORNING AMERICA! Let this day begin, let us awake with hope and change in our hearts and go to sleep with a quiet confidence that our time has finally come.  May Barack, Michelle and the girls have a wonderful day.  May all of America celebrate this historical time.  So come on!  Turn the beat around.  Let’s boogie:

6:15 A.M.:

I just got back from taking Chuck and Dr. No to the Vienna metro station.  It is still dark outside, but Vienna was humming.  Hundreds of people were walking to the station, all bundled up.  What a sight to behold!  People in the streets with purpose and happiness!  I have never seen anything like this in my whole life.  On my way home, I pulled along side a police car at a red light.  I motioned for him to put his window down and he did.  I told him he and his buddies were doing a great job and thanked him.  He was jolly and said “right back at ya’.”  There WILL be order and decorum today because Americans are thrilled to have the opportunity to watch this man Obama assume his hard-earned and deserved place in history and our hearts.  Just look at him now:

6:45 A.M.:

I am twirling again.  Even though my body is a bit shot from the weekend’s festivities, my will is strong.  The house is so quiet, with only me and Castine here.  But we are twirling.  Natalie Merchant provides the most superb twirling music.  Will you join me?

7:15 A.M.:

The sun is coming up.  Glory be!  I was so excited about this day that a few minutes ago when I was making some coffee, I spilled the kettle of water all over the gas stove top.  I now have this most annoying clicking that I can not get to stop.  Dr. No is not going to be pleased when he gets home.

Thanks to my very special friends.  Heather:  the cookies you brought me from Brooklyn are to die for, and I am trying my best to do just that.  I am eating them non-stop.  Chrisetta:  your pictures will always be treasured.  If I knew how to post them on this blog, I would do so.  Where is Chuck when I need him?  I promise you all I will do my best to get those pictures up later.

8:00 A.M.:

I have been totally removed from any newspapers, television, etc. for the past three days.  I had other responsibilities (Can you believe that???).  I hear that Vice Dickhead is showing up today in a wheelchair.  Seems he sprained his back.  My cuz Roselie believes that he is using the wheelchair as a sympathetic ploy:  he doesn’t want to be brought up on criminal war charges.  I do not think that Paul Krugman would have one ounce of sympathy for the Vice, wheelchair or not.

How beautiful does the National Mall look?  That Capitol building is gleaming today.  It is luminous.  Everything seems to be working.  This is the way it should be.  And so very many people on the Mall are wearing funky hats like my son Chuck has.  His hat is the most butt-ugly thing you ever saw.  Lo and behold, many other Americans are doing likewise.

It is still so early in the morning.  Yet everyone has a smile on their faces, the hope is palpable.  The temperature in D.C. is currently 19 degrees.  No matter.  The warmth generated by this day will propel us forward.

8:40 P.M.:

As I am watching the TV with everyone else, we are waiting for the Obama family to exit Blair House to start their day.  Time to get the show on the road.  Harriet Tubman’s been waiting, so too Nat Turner, Abraham Lincoln, Rosa Parks and Martin Luther King.

Whoa!  History must step aside: Michelle looks gorgeous!  I have just had to resort to twirling again.  Forgive me.  This is it.  This is our day and the world is celebrating along with us.

9:10 A.M.:

I am just bustin’ my ta-tas here!  Dr. No just called me from the National Mall and he said it is a veritable carnival down there.  Just wonderful.

For the last two days, I haven’t showered and have been in my pajamas.  I think I better see to myself and personal hygiene.  However, NOT BEFORE Mr. Obama gets sworn in.  First things first.  I will not move from my computer until my hero is sworn in and reclaims our country for us.  I promise.

10:00 A.M.:

How proud are all the mothers of America that Michelle brought Laura Bush a bread-and-butter gift?   Cookies?  Cake? A little tchochtka?  Oh yes.  Michelle is every-mother-in-the-world worthy.

I heard from the fellas.  Dr. No is on the Mall having a blast.  Chuck, the holder of an actual ticket to the swearing in, is and has been on line for hours.  It appears that the actual ticket holders might get the short end of the stick:  security is allowing only one person in at a time.  At that rate and with less than two hours to go until the oath is given, it does not look promising that the ticket holders will get in. But goodwill and cheer rules the day.  Remember:  It’s alright:

10:30 A.M.:

The scene in D.C. is majestic, filled with pomp and circumstance.  What astounds me, however, are the throngs of people, the accessibility to this event.  This is precisely what is so American about today.  The citizens have been allowed to show and offer their admiration and respect to President Obama.  It is truly a celebration of the people, by the people and for the people.  The individual who knows this intimately is Obama.  The day’s pride and exuberance goes beyond, gender, race and party lines.  Today our joy is universal.  I am so happy to be an American today.  This land IS my land and this land IS your land and we must never forget that.  We are the ones we have been waiting for:

11:10 A.M.:

I am watching all the dignitaries, past and present, entering the reviewing stands.  Man, does Walter Mondale look fantastic!  Teddy Kennedy is so dapper.  Gotta love him.  Here comes Bill Clinton, and whoa!  His zipper is actually zipped.  The Bushes senior are next.  George I looks old and feeble, having a hard time walking.

Here comes the Lincoln bible.  And the Bush twins.  The entire Mall area is jam packed.  Chuck just called me;  no luck, even with his ticket, getting into the ceremony.  People are furious.  It is as if they made all these people spend the day yesterday going into D.C. to pick up their tickets, and then today, there is no one in charge of seeing that these people get in.  What a shame.

Here come the Obama daughters.  They are just as cute as could be.  How exhilarating is it to have children living in the White House?  And now comes Grandma.  That’s even more thrilling; to have a G-Momma at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue.

11:40 A.M.:

I refuse to acknowledge him, GWB.  Period.

11:42 A.M.:

And now we have Smilin’ Joe.  May his bright smile last eight years.  Now come Nancy and Dianne.

I have to take a deep breath.  Wait until Obama sees the sight in front of him.  Here he is, President Barack Hussein Obama.  Just wait until he finds out that the ticket holders were not allowed in.  There will be hell to pay.

11:50 A.M.:

I thought Rick Warren would never finish.  He did, and now we have Aretha.  Some kinda hat!!!  Love it.  When Aretha sings “Let freedom ring”, you better believe freedom is gonna ring.

11:57 A.M.:

Smilin’ Joe is taking the oath of the Vice Presidency.  Thank heavens we have a competent person in the number two spot.  Could have been a whole lot different.  You betcha.

12:00 P.M.:

The classical musicians are playing my favorite song, “Tis a Gift to be Simple.”  Perfection.

Excuse me a moment:  Chuck just called.  Always let it be known that Yo Mama has instructed her children, when handed lemons, to always make lemonade.  He was not admitted to the ceremony but has landed in a sports bar, having a tall drink and watching the festivities on TV.

12:05 P.M.:

The Presidential oath has been taken.  HE IS IN.  HE IS OURS.  Thank the heavens and the stars.  I think we finally got it right.

12:25 P.M.:

His words are poetry and yet, truth.  Children are so often a focus of his and today is no exception.  So be it.

1:00 P.M.:

President Obama said to “pick yourself up. dust yourself off, and start all over again.”  I am going to do that.  I am hitting the showers.

I will be back later.

2:10 P.M.:

Day is done.  I had a great time and am so grateful this day finally arrived.  Thank you all for the best day:

WITH MUCH LOVE,

YO MAMA FOR OBAMA

5 Responses to “LIVE WITH YO MAMA:Our Day Is Here”

  1. Natalie Rosen Says:

    I am not a praying person but I prayed last night and today that our president stays safe, and that he undoes the damage that was most especially the past eight years but in truth the damage was much longer. I pray for our new president’s greatness and I pray for all of us to be safe to enjoy this history.

    I plan on watching from 6:30 a.m. through the time in the late evening when my eyes will just not stay open. I am SO happy I could just BURST!!!!!!!! Celebrate my lovely, beloved and fellow blogger, all enjoy the day and your celebration to come! I wish I were there with you. I am in spirit and love.

  2. amy lilley Says:

    Good morning Ladies…I am a praying person Natalie, and I agree w/ all of your wonderful prayers…at the first glimpse of Obama and lovely Michelle, off to church service, I burst into tears….

    I have things to do today…Bunny is having her 85th on Saturday, and I’ve called in photos from the family…so after all the scanning, zooming, enhancing, cropping, editing and printing, I should have them ALL in my hot little hands today…I am putting together a collage…found a GREAT photo of Mom and Dede…anywho, will certainly wait until afternoon to head out…

    Hiya yomama…loved the pics from your party…:)))))

  3. amy lilley Says:

    ps. yomama…the collage is a surprise…:)))

  4. amy lilley Says:

    MAZAL TOV…YES WE DID…running…love you…

    XXXXXXX

  5. sarahsouth Says:

    what party?

Comments are closed.


