Heights of Dishonor

So this is the “scandal” that Bob Woodward intimated last week.  Tom Daschle owed $128,000 in back taxes.  He repaid $100,00 of the bill six days before his first Senate confirmation hearing.

The outrage!  The disgust! The gall of people, especially people in public service, to think that they are above the laws.  This incident is no different from the Geithner situation, except that the amount that Daschle owed was three times as much as Geithner was liable for.  My husband seems to think that this fact that Daschle’s back taxes were triple what Geithner’s were is the nail in the coffin.  I disagree:  the amount of money is meaningless.  Their illegal and dishonest intentions are one and of the same.  Murder is murder, theft is theft and fraud is fraud.  The amount of tax evasion dollars does not mitigate the degree of the crime.

If  I am not happy as to how the bailout funds are being spent and, as a result, decide to withhold about $1500 from the taxes I will owe, my rear end will be promptly and unceremoniously thrown in a federal penitentiary ( I refuse to pay lawyers’ fees).  So my daughter, Maribel, you better start composing that protest song NOW in defense of your mother’s civil disobedience and dissension.

Today, being the start of a weekend, I had plans to write an upbeat post about President Obama’s first ten days in office.  That article is tabled for now.  I am seething at the stupidity, entitlement and basic disregard for our laws that these politicians consistently demonstrate. In an email this morning, my cousin Roselie had these choice comments regarding Tom Daschle.  I quote them below precisely because they are visceral, and oh so true:

“WHAT is it with these guys … over 100 thousand bucks in back taxes?????  Man, Obama needs to be more scrupulous, much more scrupulous in whom he chooses.  This tax non-payment is awful.  Me, with my “farkakte” (check Yiddish dictionary) income pays every penny like clockwork.  I can not believe these guys: just as immoral as anything the Republicans do and maybe worse.  Republicans: at least part of their philosophy is to loathe taxes.  These Democrats don’t mind taxes AS LONG AS SOMEONE ELSE PAYS THEM.  These people are millionaires.  It drives me to furiosity (Is there such a word?).  The NERVE!

I am mad at Obama today for doing some things that he SAID he wouldn’t do.  But he’s done good too.  So ….. I am tempered a little by that.  But sheesh, Daschle wanted to be President at one time.  People like him and Edwards must have been delusional.”

Now I will go and pay all of my bills perfectly, without any rancor or subterfuge.  After all, if I do not fulfil the “good citizen” role, who will?  Obviously not our public servants who attest to the fact that our legal and societal regulations do not exist for their adherence.  Quite the contrary:  these icons of public service actually climb to new heights in their careers by denying, ignoring and mocking the basic framework of our land.

I, still and yet, remain Yo Mama For Obama.  But for how long, I can not say.

2 Responses to “Heights of Dishonor”

  1. Natalie Rosen Says:

    I LOVE you cousin Rosalie. She is RIGHT on the money so to speak. Right now I have to pay my Excise tax bill on my one and1/2 year old auto. That is a rotten tax because not only do they get you in Mass for the sales tax they get you EVERY year you own the lousy car for the payment of an excise tax. In essence they get you for this tax as long as you own a car even IF the car is 25 years old. They will bill you 12 dollars and 62 cents if they have to. I hate it BUT I defused my hate by saying the State of Mass. and my little town need the money. Kids are sitting in sudy halls because there is no money to pay teachers to hire for classes. In addition there is a HUGE pot hole which one could fit a truck in near my house. So, if my excise tax helps…I cry uncle. I will pay it as I have ever since I owned my first car at age 16. I am now 60. I have paid a LOT of excise taxes AND for that matter a LOT of income tax, on time always and without cheating EVER!!

  2. Natalie Rosen Says:

    I LOVE your cousin Rosalie. She is RIGHT on the money so to speak. Right now I have to pay my Excise tax bill on my one and1/2 year old auto. That is a rotten tax because not only do they get you in Mass for the sales tax they get you EVERY year you own the lousy car for the payment of an excise tax. In essence they get you for this tax as long as you own a car even IF the car is 25 years old. They will bill you 12 dollars and 62 cents if they have to. I hate it BUT I defused my hate by saying the State of Mass. and my little town need the money. Kids are sitting in study halls because there is no money to pay teachers to hire for classes. In addition there is a HUGE pot hole which one could fit a truck in near my house. So, if my excise tax helps…I cry uncle. I will pay it as I have ever since I owned my first car at age 16. I am now 60. I have paid a LOT of excise taxes AND for that matter a LOT of income tax, on time always and without cheating EVER!!

Comments are closed.


