Pearls Before Swine

I was in our local public library and had to use the restroom.  As I was in the stall, I heard a mother with her young child, maybe three years old, talking her through the finer points of  hand washing by the sinks.  Especially with the swine flu amongst us, this lesson was fascinating to my ears and ultimately, a pearl of a lesson.

A toddler has no conception of how long twenty seconds are, which is the prescribed time we have been advised to wash our hands.  So this mother made this ritual relevant for her child: she told the child to sing “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star” and by the time the child was finished, it would be time to stop washing her hands.  Sheer genius.

“Twinkle, twinkle, little star .…. Okay, honey, put those hands under the warm water and rub ……. How I wonder what you are ….. good job.  Now take a spot of soap ….. Up above the world so high ….. and rub the soap really well all over your hands ….. Like a diamond in the sky ….. in between your fingers ….. Twinkle, twinkle, little star ….. now baby, rinse off all the soap really well, no, we are not finished yet ….. How I wonder what you are ….. all done!”

Some lessons in life are the simplest.

b9vfl4b63mwzw6qip8tfnnwro1_500

****************************************************

CYBER SITES FOR YOUR WEEKEND READING AND BELLY LAUGHS

Kudos to my cousin Natalie  (http://www.natalierosen.blogspot.com) for publication of her latest post on the Arlen Specter switcheroo published in the “Letters to the Editor” section of the New York Times on 4/30/09.  Her thoughts and writing abilities are at the peak of her talents in this letter.  Here is the link:

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/04/30/opinion/l30specter.html?ref=opinion

Then there are two cyber sites that I want to bring to your attention that will reward you with huge giggles.  First, there is “Post Cards From Yo Momma” (http://www.postcardsfromyomomma.com).  This site was started by two grown daughters to offer a collection site for misunderstood emails between mothers and daughters.  For example, as I was talking to my son this week I asked him if he is a member of “Tweeter.”  After his laughter subsided, he said, “Mom —- its “Twitter”.

Secondly, and I have suggested this wonderful site to you before, you must go visit ” New Kid on tha Blog” (http://www.newkidonthablog.blogspot.com/).  The author is a twenty-something New Yorkah, transplanted from a childhood in California, who makes short shrift of life for her generation in these times in the Big Apple.  She is so alive, so funny, so bright, so contemporary and just downright spot on with her commentary.

HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND.

http://alphainventions.com/politics.xml

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Pearls Before Swine”

  1. Natalie R Says:

    Thanks for the kudo.

    I LOVED the Pooh cartoon the BEST. It says it all. Very funny 🙂

    It’s rather like when your partner/husband/wife comes home and you think boy do I love him/her and in the next moment you think but IF he kisses me or sneezes I could be dead!!! funny

    Ah, the ying and yang, good and bad, Cain and Able, equal and opposites reactions in life.

  2. New Kid Says:

    Bon Bon,
    You are a superwoman. And I love the postcardsfromyomama! Read about them in the New Yorker and was dying…too funny.

    I have been washing my hands a lot and perhaps I will start singing “Twinkle, Twinkle” as I do it. Or maybe I’ll sing “Tinkle Tinkle” as I pee in public restrooms and see what people do.

    Thanks for all the blog lovin’ and I hope you have a fabulous first day of May!

    XOXO,
    NKOTB

Comments are closed.


