Humah Me

Another weekend is upon us and I figure we all could use some laughs.

Our dear Sarah is still in our thoughts, as if we could get rid of her even if we wanted to.  Her spotlight continues to shine, although not very favorably.  The best headline this week was “QUIT HAPPENS” , Shannyn Moore’s (of the Huffington Post) take on a new plateau of Palin ineptitude:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/shannyn-moore/sarah-palins-constitution_b_230390.html

The new, unofficial Alaska motto: Quit Happens.

******************************************************************

One of the ten best childrens’ books, “A Hole Is To Dig”, written by Ruth Krauss and illustrated by Maurice Sendak, entered into my radar scope this week.  This book is a child’s first book of definitions, and is funny and beautiful in its simplicity. Why, you may ask, did this particular book pop into my head?  The title flashed in my memory banks when I observed Senator Jeff Sessions and his Republican, white, male cronies interviewing Judge Sonia Sotomayer for confirmation to the Supreme Court bench.  These oppositional fellows, who do not see any value of a female, non-lily white perspective on the Court, kept digging their own hole deeper and deeper as the hearings progressed.  Their lack of appreciation for diversity on the Court, which should mirror the diversity in our population, demonstrated THEIR prejudicial mantra.  Dig, Senators, dig:

http://browseinside.harpercollins.com/index.aspx?isbn13=9780064432054

******************************************************************

Yo Mama has been feeling her age lately.  Maybe that is due to the dog day’s of summer, or maybe it is just a fact of life.  I got a little thrill out of this bit of humah:

Jacob, age 92, and Rebecca, age 89, living in Florida, are all excited about their decision to get married. They go for a stroll  to discuss the wedding,
and on the way they pass a drugstore.  Jacob  suggests they go in.  Jacob addresses the man behind the counter: “Are you the owner?”  The pharmacist answers, “Yes.”

Jacob: “We’re about to get married. Do you sell heart  medication?”Pharmacist: “Of course we do.”

Jacob: “How about medicine for circulation?”

Pharmacist: “All kinds ”

Jacob: “Medicine for rheumatism?”

Pharmacist: “Definitely.”

Jacob: “How about suppositories?”

Pharmacist: “You bet!”

Jacob: “Medicine for memory problems, arthritis, and  Alzheimer’s?”

Pharmacist: “Yes, a large variety. The works.”

Jacob: “What about vitamins, sleeping pills, Geritol,  antidotes for Parkinson’s disease?”

Pharmacist: “Absolutely.”Jacob: “Everything for heartburn and indigestion?”

Pharmacist: “We sure do.”

Jacob: “You sell wheelchairs and walkers and canes?”

Pharmacist: “All speeds and sizes.”

Jacob: “Adult diapers?”

Pharmacist: “Sure.”

Jacob: “We’d like to use this store as our Bridal  Registry.”

************************************************************

And finally, my President Obama tossed the first ceremonial pitch at baseballs’ All Star Game.  In line with his relentless preparation for anything and everything, I betcha he practiced his pitching for three days before the game.  As adorable as he is, just the way that he is, I must say that his jeans made him look like he just left the farm.  Research has taught me that his look was the look of “Mom jeans”:

Many thanks to my friends, like the Seven-Striper and Lilleyhope,  for sharing their humah with me.  Enjoy the weekend.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Humah Me”

  1. Natalie R Says:

    I LOVE the bridal registry…now just where is that place!!!

  2. amy lilley Says:

    ah ah…you humah me too…:)))

  3. amy lilley Says:

    I meant ah ha…I can spell….your 7-striper friend…:))

  4. yomamaforobama Says:

    Lilleyhope:

    When I said my “Seven Sriper” friend, I didn’t mean you: I meant A. Olin. So now you tell me you too were a seven striper. How can I live up to my friends’ accomplishments???????????

Comments are closed.


