It’s Not My First Rodeo

Thanks go to my husband for this phrase “It’s not my first rodeo.”  Allow me to elaborate.

Been there, done that.  As I get older in years and longer in the tooth, I find a bit of wisdom attached to those scars of life.  The insight is totally worth it.  I might not look so hot anymore, but my brain power and experience are worth it.

The Senators, especially the Democrats led by the terribly disappointing Harry Reid, have fallen off a cliff.  Instead of passing health legislation, with a public option that the people are screaming for, they have turned this debate into what’s in it for them.  I have news for the Senators: it is not about you.  Not that it ever was, but especially this time.  The American people are responding, both the right and the left.  Some reconciliation at last.

As I sit here, awaiting the foot or so of snow that we expect, I will be blogging often this weekend.  But I promise, I will provide some comic relief along the way.  While the right  wingers are concerned about the intrusion of too much government in every aspect of our lives, the left is railing against the hypocrisy of government’s presence.  So while these two combative ends of the political spectrum are separated by their expected goals, the culprit is the same for both sides.

I have had insights as to why there appears to be validation between the right and the left: it is a reaction to the deceit and lies of our elected officials.  While the goals of the right and left are different, the complaints are the same: a violation of ethics and values.  Whether the financial industry, the for- profit insurers or the deception of our elected officials, the whammy to the American public is flagrant and crosses party lines.  In my wildest dreams, what could the tea-baggers and the liberals actually agree on?  Decency.  Honesty.  Fairness.  It is actually quite heartening that all Americans, despite their political loyalties, can find common ground on which to coalesce.

I still believe in President Obama; I believe in his purity of purpose, yet understand the confinements of governing.  And I will be damned to hell if I condemn his whole being, his entire agenda, because I am unhappy, so far, with his participation in health care reform.  In fact, I find hope:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2009/12/18/white-house-will-try-to-p_n_397022.html

I am a very loyal person and I find no rationale to desert this man of promise.  I could not imagine the pressures he is under.

Kudos to the novice Senator from Minnesota, Al Franken.  Finally, fin-al-ly, we have a Senator who talks of real facts and nails the liars on their attempts to purposely deceive.  Watch this video of Franken rubbing John Thune’s face in his own disgusting lies:

It is this outright and purposeful distortion and fraud that citizens of both parties are rallying against.  Franken should be given a medal for good citizenship. He is a one-man morality tale: yesterday he gave Traitor Joe Lieberman a dose of his own medicine and today he is demanding true facts and accountability from the Party of No.  Who would have believed that this was Franken’s first rodeo?  Make no mistake about it: Al Franken is the real Maverick of the Senate.

I truly do appreciate the difference between campaigning and governing.  Governing is wicked more complicated.  Take Jimmy Carter as an example.  He was a President of impeccable honesty, goodwill and high expectations.  However, he could not run an effective shop for the life of him.  So all of his admirable qualities were rendered moot because he could not translate ideas into actions.  Further, as much as I admire Howard Dean and Dennis Kucinich, who is to say that they would be effective at the top level of our government?  Who knows?  Yet their honesty and integrity is to be much admired.

The perfect storm is brewing for the mid-Atlantic states this weekend.  We are expecting over a foot of snow.  My mood has somewhat elevated with the possibility that all Americans are now well-aware that the perfect storm is also brewing in Congress.  There is comfort in numbers.  Know that I am a reasonable person.  But temper that thought with the fact that above all, I am for the children.  Sometimes, civil obedience includes taking an unpopular stand.  So be it.

This is not my first rodeo, nor will it be my last.

POSTSCRIPT:

A reader has kindly apprised me of the source for the title of this post, “It’s Not My First Rodeo”.  The lyricist is the country singer Gosdin Vern:

This ain’t my first rodeo

This ain’t the first time this old cowboy’s been throwed…

This ain’t the first I’ve seen this dog and pony show

Honey, This ain’t my first rodeo.

Tags: , , , ,

10 Responses to “It’s Not My First Rodeo”

  1. whitney houston Says:

    you go girl. i am for the children too. i believe the children are the future.

  2. Natalie R Says:

    I see your points. Howard Zinn makes some similar points in that he says change does not come from our elected officials it comes from the bottom up. So there are TWO bottoms here as you note tea baggers on the right and progressives on the left. Both are red hot angry. I see the satisfaction one can find in this that both groups are furious at the deceit, dishonesty and deception of elected officials and their quagmires. That was true in the Weimar Republic as well. The problem is even though there is a meeting of the angry minds on both ends of the spectrum each group hates each other. One is militaristic, utlra religious, nationalistic, has at its heart various combos of fascism, oligarchy and racism, wants government out of the economic life of the nation and the other is anti war, critical of the empire like actions of this nation and FOR the involvement of government when it comes to the public welfare with special deference to the poor, the afflicted and the powerless. It’s two groups very angry at the lies and deceit of government but seeing two diametrically different solutions to the problems.

    While the anger may seem good I do not see it that way. To me it makes for a very explosive atmosphere. One group must pull it out. The question is which one and how. The atmosphere especially if the recession does not abate makes for revolutions of the right AND the left. I am hoping Obama can pull SOMETHING out of the hat and quell the anger. I too saw the heading of the article in Huff Post that you refer to which gave me a glimmer of hope as well but I don’t know. He is the only game we have in town as there is NO other person on the semi-left and voting Republican is out of the question.

    Maybe Copenhagen helped a bit we’ll see. As usual I am very pessimistic until I see reason to not be. When I do I will change my mind but right this second I am not a happy camper and I hate rodeos — too right wing for me! 🙂

  3. marabelle Says:

    i think you’re totally hot!

  4. whitney houston Says:

    i do love the children. we should teach them well and let them lead the way. we should show them all the beauty they possess inside, and give them a sense of pride to make it easier. always let the children’s laughter remind us how we used to be.

    • yomamaforobama Says:

      INDEED, WHITNEY: Put this in your hat:

      “One Moment In Time”

      I want one moment in time
      When I’m more than I thought I could be
      When all of my dreams are a heartbeat away
      And the answers are all up to me
      Give me one moment in time
      When I’m racing with destiny
      Then in that one moment of time
      I will be free.

      You’re a winner for a lifetime
      If you seize that one moment in time
      Make it shine.

      CHEESEY IS AS CHEESEY DOES.

  5. sarahsouth Says:

    crack is wack!

  6. Natalie R Says:

    Suggestion if you did not catch Bill Moyers he was stupendous. Google Bill Moyers. He had on Matt Taibbi and Robert Kutner called “Money and Politics”. It says it all. Brilliant. Second half is Frontlines on Foreclosure: Steve Meacham and City Life/Vida Urbana which takes place in Dorchester section of Boston, where my father grew up. Two EXCELLENT segments.

  7. 4854derrida Says:

    Hello

    I’ve recently uploaded two rare interviews with the Wobblie, anarchist, and activist Dorothy Day.

    Day had begun her service to the poor in New York City during the Depression with Peter Maurin, and it continued until her death in 1980. Their dedication to administering to the homeless, elderly, and disenfranchised continues in many parts of the world.

    Please post or announce the availability of these videos for those who may be interested in hearing this remarkable humanist.

    They may be located here:

    http://www.youtube.com/user/4854derrida

    Thank you

    Dean Taylor

Comments are closed.


