Snow Bored

We have about six inches of snow so far, I do not have any cable TV here, and you know what the Saturday networks schedule is: infomercial paradise.  So I am bored.  In an attempt to entertain myself, I will try to entertain you.

During the President’s SOTU address this week, Josh Marshall of Talking Points Memo live blogged the event.  He had two very funny comments.  He referred to Senator John Boehner as the “Prince of Orange”.  Even a zombie couldn’t miss Boehner’s constant tan, and I have referred to him frequently as “Tan Man”.  But “Prince of Orange” almost made me fall off my chair.  Then, during the speech, the camera panned to Senator Joe Leiberman and Senator Ben Nelson, who were sitting next to each other.  Marshall called them the “axis of weasels”.  When I read that, I did fall off of my chair.

Here are some funnies that my loyal readers have sent in to me.  Thank you, everyone!

A CAUTIONARY TALE FOR AGING BOOMERS

A group of 40 year old buddies discuss and discuss where they should meet for dinner. Finally it is agreed upon that they should meet at The Palm restaurant because the waitress’s there have low cut blouses and the food is good!

10 years later, at 50 years of age, the group meets again and once again they discuss and discuss where they should meet. Finally it is agreed upon that they should meet at The Palm because the food there is very good and the wine selection is good also.

10 years later at 60 years of age, the group meets again and once again they discuss and discuss where they should meet. Finally it is agreed upon that they should meet at The Palm because they make the steaks with no added salt.

10 years later, at 70 years of age, the group meets again and once again they discuss and discuss where they should meet. Finally it is agreed upon that they should meet at The Palm because the restaurant is wheel chair accessible.

10 years later, at 80 years of age, the group meets again and once again they discuss and discuss where they should meet. Finally it is agreed upon that they should meet at The Palm because that would be a great idea because they have never been there before.


HAVING MOM OVER FOR DINNER

You don’t even have to be a mother to enjoy this one …..

Brian invited his mother over for dinner.  During the course of the meal, Brian’s mother couldn’t help but notice how beautiful Brian’s roommate, Jennifer, was.  Brian’s mom had long been suspicious of the platonic relationship between Brian and Jennifer, and this had only made her more curious.

Over the course of the evening while watching the two interact, she started to wonder if there was more between Brian and Jennifer than met the eye.

Reading his mom’s thoughts, Brian volunteered, “”I know what you must be thinking, but I assure you Jennifer and I are just roommates.”

About a week later, Jennifer came to Brian saying, “Ever since your mother came to dinner, I’ve been unable to find the beautiful silver gravy ladle.  You don’t suppose she took it, do you?”

Brian said, “Well, I doubt it, but I will send her an E-mail just to be sure.  So he sat down and wrote:

Dear Mom:

I’m not saying that you “did” take the gravy ladle from the house, I’m not saying that you “did not” take the gravy ladle.  But the fact remains that one has been missing ever since you were here for dinner.

Love,

Brian

Several days later Brian received an E-mail back from his mother that read:

Dear Son:

I’m not saying that you “do” sleep with Jennifer, I’m not saying that you “do not” sleep with Jennifer.  But the fact remains that if Jennifer is sleeping in her own bed, she would have found the gravy ladle by now.

Love,

Mom

Lesson of the day: Never lie to your mother.


This classic skit, featuring Sid Caesar and Nanette Fabray, is very funny.  It has found its way all around the Internet savvy world, and sent to me by a cousin.  Enjoy!




Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Snow Bored”

  1. lou Says:

    great post. BTW, know what we call 6 inches of snow in Rochester? A nice day at the beach! Enjoy.

  2. ERG Says:

    Beach? It’s too cold for the beach – only gonna be in the 60s today. Brr. (sorry yomama, just had to).

Comments are closed.


