Unemployment as a Means to Success

Here is an article that appeared in the New York Times last week.  It is about the now-common practice of kids moving back in with their folks, the dilemma of not working while waiting for the “perfect” job to come along,  and the parents supporting this decision.  Is resume-building idleness a viable reason for not taking an actual job?   I have been thinking about this 24-year-old kid and his parents, and the decisions each has made:

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/07/07/business/economy/07generation.html?pagewanted=1&ref=general&src=me

Please read it and give me your feedback, judgments and all.  My feedback will follow yours.  Thanks.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Unemployment as a Means to Success”

  1. blackwatertown Says:

    Woah! It wasn’t like that when I was looking first time round. Are these people really serious about finding work? The longer they leave it, the more outdated their knowledge becomes and the more new waves of graduates will displace them.
    I applaud the ambition to focus on the ideal goal.
    But I reckon parents/grandparents are right. Get a decent job and keep looking within and outside the company. Much more impressive than someone who gives the impression – intentionally and perhaps inaccurately – that they are too spoiled to graft.

    • yomamaforobama Says:

      I appreciate your comment. Well said, and your tactfulness is equal to that of a major diplomat! Thanks.

Comments are closed.


