Folksong For Freedom: Vote!

My baby girl Maribel is good and pissed.  She is not a political animal, just a concerned, observant and invested human being.  What more could a mother ask for?  A work always and forever in progress, but nonetheless, a mission accomplished so far.  Glory be, she does this mama proud.  Here is her latest song titled “American Soil (Get Out there And Vote)”:

I wish the words were clearer in this song, but Maribel’s determined sentiment is obvious.  From New Mexico to Washington, D.C. to the great northwest, Maribel’s lament for what is, as opposed to what should be, is invigorating and inspirational.  I will try to get a copy of the lyrics and post them.

If you do not want to face the wrath of Maribel, I suggest you get out there and vote this election day.  Far be it for me that I would cross her; I already have voted.

POSTSCRIPT:

Here are the lyrics that I promised you.

American Soil (Get Out There And Vote)

I’m a born and bred American
I love this land I’m living in
And just like all the rest of you
I’m wondering what the hell to do
About climate change and carbon offsetting
Don’t know about you, but I’m betting
On solar and wind and green invention
If only there wasn’t this Great Recession

The way I see it, we bring some people in
Give ‘em a job, and hire up a again
It’ll cost us a great big bucket of money
But it’s such a no-brainer, it’s not even funny
America will set the very best example
We can hang our pride back on the mantle
It’s not about preaching how to live
It’s just times like these, we take initiative

This is where we say goodbye to the patriots of a falsified liberty
Goodbye to the abuse of humanity
Goodbye to the fear and the ugliness of power
How did we allow this on our American soil?

I was born in New Mexico
Where they’re fighting for the right to go
Across the border, it’s a great big fight
But to send ‘em back, well it just ain’t right
‘Cause if the government back in 1910
Had decided not to let some of those folks in
Where exactly would I be today?
And where you be, by the way?

So I was raised in the nation’s capital
Where it goes from scandal to scandal
From protest to protest to rally the crowds
But the marble and limestone will keep it out
It’s been a decade dedicated to war after war
But whoever knew what we were fighting for?
There is no New Deal government
But I still love that Washington Monument

This is where we say goodbye to the patriots of a falsified liberty
Goodbye to the abuse of humanity
Goodbye to the fear and the ugliness of power
How did we allow this on our American soil?

Now I live in the Great Northwest
Once upon a time it was the logger’s best
But someone fought on Mother Nature’s side
And now we got a heaven a coupl’a states wide
So you who mine in the Appalachians
You, with the offshore rigging stations
You, with all that nuclear waste
You’re giving me a bad taste

‘Cause I’m a born and bred American
I love this land we’re living in
And just like all the rest of you
I’m wondering what the hell to do
So even if you’ve got nothing to say
Get out there and vote on Election Day
We all have a right to America’s name
We’re born and we’ll die here, just the same

And oh, the truth, it starts its sinkin’ in
And oh, this mess we’re living in
It’s a grand parade of sinners
Let’s all join hands and take no prisoners

This is where we say goodbye to the patriots of a falsified liberty
Goodbye to the abuse of humanity
Goodbye to the fear and the ugliness of power
How did we allow this on our American soil?
 
music and lyrics by Ali Marcus 2010

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Folksong For Freedom: Vote!”

  1. NatalieR Says:

    FABULOUS! Is this song entitled “American Soil”?

    Can’t someone get her on John Stewart OR Oprah! Seriously, it’s THAT good. I was crying! Beautiful heart felt song!

  2. amy lilley Says:

    Maribel didn’t miss a beat…I agree w/ Natalie…it’s THAT GOOD…and I understood every passionate word which came out of her mouth…applause Maribel, applause!!!

  3. yomamaforobama Says:

    Thanks for your comments, Nat and Amy. The part that really gets me is:

    I was born in New Mexico
    Where they’re fighting for the right to go
    Across the border, it’s a great big fight
    But to send ‘em back, well it just ain’t right
    ‘Cause if the government back in 1910
    Had decided not to let some of those folks in
    Where exactly would I be today?
    And where you be, by the way?

    Whenever I encounter a person who complains about different people moving into their neighborhood, people who often speak another language, I always tell these worried souls about my grandparents who came over to this country in the early 1900’s. During their long lives, I don’t think they ever mastered English. This had no bearing on the guts they had to make that arduous trek across the ocean to a foreign land nor on the impact they made as American citizens. Their work ethic was of the nth degree as was their devotion to family and American values.

    Unless a modern critic of immigrants is of Native American heritage, their feelings about immigrants are the epitome of hypocrisy. duplicity and bigotry.

    My Maribel is so right: where exactly would we ALL be if our immigrant forbears never made their trips?

  4. lou Says:

    love it!

Comments are closed.


