Happy Mama’s Day

To all of my readers and friends, may you enjoy a wonderful Mother’s Day.  I am a little ver klempt today, what with my computer dying and the infection of another one simply by opening up an email from an old friend.  This third backup machine that I am using is one year younger than God and acts accordingly.  Oy.

I am grateful to my two incredible children who allowed me to earn the title of “Mommy.”  I have earned that title, right kids?  They have taught me more than I have ever taught them and continue to do so every day.

I have special thoughts today of two specific women.  First, Adwoa was the caretaker for both my mother and father in their last years.  Her devotion to them was deep, and her amazing care allowed them to stick around for some extra, bonus time.  Thank you, Adwoa.

Second, I am rapt in thought about a head counselor I had while at summer camp 45 years ago.  Her name was Bunny and believe me, she was the grandest, sanest, smartest Bunny anyone could know.  Today she is in her late 80’s and is ailing.  I send her my love and gratitude for all the things she taught me (by example) and all the incredibly fun times we had together.  Her daughter, Lilleyhope, is one of my dearest friends.  Rather than search the web for an appropriate Mother’s Day video, photo or other visual stimulant (how many computers can I take down in one day????), I am sending you the link to Lilleyhope’s site for the most beautiful picture of all for this Mother’s Day.

If you need to chill a bit like I do, also have a visit to the Decorah, Iowa eagle’s nest.  The three babies have grown significantly, thanks to the unflinching parenting of the Mama and Papa.

May the peace and love you experience today be inversely related to my technological powers of destruction!

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Happy Mama’s Day”

  1. EGR Says:

    Happy Day, you Mother!

    Love, Mother

  2. Mother’s Day Epilogue « Yo Mama For Obama Says:

    […] Yo Mama For Obama "Turn the Beat Around" « Happy Mama’s Day […]

Comments are closed.


